Paper, Demons, and… Birdhouses?

Standard

Another Monday has arrived. I can’t believe how fast the week has flown by. I’ve been so swamped with my work recently that I didn’t even watch the latest Dragonball Super episode yesterday. I know; that’s very odd of me. Don’t worry though, I got caught up on episode 63 this morning (Trunks vs jigsaw puzzle).

So what have I been working on to make me so busy?

There was the outline of The Bone Prophet (AEON book 4). By “outline” I mean I basically pre-write the whole book in a very detailed synopsis.¬† I can even tell you how many chapters there will be (19). I do all kinds of research, and even scribble down quotes I usually end up using. The research I did for this one includes a list of paranormal creatures as well as a list of powers. Seriously, you should see my notebook.

Of course, I had to have ideas for TSF (AEON book 5) along the way. As a result, I got that outline kicked out as well. The research for this one took me in an entirely different direction, and I ended up learning about the various deities of the afterlife, the various names for the regions of Hell, and even the names of archangels and archdemons. This might give you a little hint as to what’s going to happen in this volume of the series.

Then I get ideas for TTS (Sin’s story). And, if you’ve been paying attention to my Facebook, you might already know that this book already has 500 words written… and I’m not even done with the outline yet! In fact, I’m just starting to write chapter 6. Even from the little bit I’ve written for this book, I can tell you that it’s going to be very explicit. I guess you could say that I’ve turned my filter completely off. So you can imagine how Sin ended up being the way he is.

And if all of that wasn’t enough, I get another brilliant idea. For those who don’t know this about me, I’m an artist. So, upon doing all this research of Hell for TSF, of course I had to make a map.

Behold! The Netherworld of The AEON Files:

netherworld05.png

It’s about 90% done, but it gives you (and me) the basic idea of where stuff is located in this fictional version of mine. I make a lot of maps like this, as well as floor plans for buildings or layouts for cities. Making world maps like this is probably my second favorite thing to do; right after building characters.

Speaking of characters… If you’re on my personal Facebook friends list, you may have seen the picture of Omen I posted on Friday afternoon. That’s another thing I enjoy doing during my creative writing process.

I’m doing all of this on top of prepping for NaNoWriMo next month and painting various birdhouses for commissions. Yup, I’m a very creative person. And now I have to get back to work.

See you next week!

Leave a Reply

