The Bone Prophet: A Few Spoilers

Standard

⇒ I feel the need to warn you that this post includes spoilers from the upcoming 4th novel of The AEON Files. You will be warned before any spoilers occur so that you can avoid them if desired.

I’ve certainly been keeping busy lately. Not just with my NaNoWriMo project, The Bone Prophet. I’ve also been working on a few artistic commissions, arguing with puppies, looking into more ways to get word out about this series, and still trying to land a publishing deal with one of the houses.

I’m really working hard to make that February 1st release date I have planned. In the mean time, I’ll keep sneaking you some little treats.   Like this first treat: as promised, an inside look at my notebook. If you can read it, yes, there may be some spoilers here.

notebook for blog.jpg

This is an actual image of the Bone Prophet storyline from my notebook. I am an outliner, and my outlines are always written by hand on paper. Each of my storylines include details like date, time, place, chapter number, and et cetera. I basically pre-write the whole story chapter by chapter before writing the real deal, so my storylines are more like synopses. I am always sure to leave empty space (usually the reverse side of the page — on the left) for notes, changes, or insertions to the story. This space is also used for diagrams, blue prints, translations, quick character references, sketches, and for jotting down random dialogue that comes to me.

As you can probably tell from all the red ink, there have been quite a few alterations and insertions already, and I’m only working on chapter 10.

Personal Tip: I always use composition notebooks for my storylines because it’s much harder for the pages to fall out. Spiral notebooks and loose-leaf paper are used as a last resort. And I always write in pen because pencil smears and fades fast. As a result, I kill a lot of pens and go through white out like water, but the process of writing out by hand helps me to focus.

⇒ Spoiler Alert! Everything from here on contains spoilers. If you want to remain surprised by the events of The Bone Prophet, I suggest you turn back now. If this is goodbye, I’ll see you again next week.

One of the off-the-wall/random insertions I did (thanks, Muse) recently was introduce a character that wasn’t supposed to appear until book 5, TSF. But this sooner-than-intended meeting actually works out better due to the circumstances in TSF. Here’s a little glimpse of the new character:

crossfade

Introducing: Crossfade

This character, Crossfade, wasn’t the only new one introduced. For the first time, you’ll get to meet AEON’s Team (Team 5), who are based out of China. With the introduction of this four-member team, you’ll also learn a little bit more about SEANCE, the predecessor of today’s AEON Agency.

And, as you can tell, our mysterious Omen is back, and boy does he have a story to tell (and not just about himself). Just wait until TSF, when Sin and Omen go toe-to-toe.

Well, it’s time for me to get back to work.

See you next week! ^_^

Leave a Reply

