The Longest Night

Standard

I apologize for being a few days late with this post. It’s no surprise, really, when you consider what time of the year this is. And I’ve been busy trying to fill some last minute commissions. But what better day to share than this? For it is the Winter Solstice; the longest night of the year. Not only does today mark the official start of winter, it is also the Pagan and Wiccan holiday of Yule.

Regrettably, I’ve been so busy filling last minute, holiday commissions that I haven’t had any chance to write. I still have a number to fill, but I need to set them on the back burner for a little bit. I hate having to do that, but I have to finish everything for The Bone Prophet before it’s too late. The difficult part is having to go from artist to writer, or “switch brains” as I call it.

This is what one of my commissions looks like:
blue-birdhouse.png

The most common question I get asked about these birdhouses is: How long does it take to paint all that?

Now that I think about it, I actually get asked about time spent on several projects.  This one, I didn’t bother tracking, but I can tell you that I had all 3 The Hobbit movies, all 3 extended edition LOTR movies, Captain America 1 and 2, Thor 1 and 2, Avengers 1 and 2, Jurassic World, The Martian, and Mad Max Fury Road (I think I got all of them…) playing in the background while I worked.

I have orders for three more of the similar shape and size, and an additional four that are larger with more complex paint schemes. As if that wasn’t enough, I might also be painting decals on a P-40 from World War 2. The only thing that frustrates me about all this work is that it makes my shoulder hurt like mad.

So that was my weekend, and also why I didn’t post on Monday like usual. I’m taking it easy today because, well, it’s a holiday. I put up a tree for my mom’s sake, but she gets to be the one who decorates it. I’ve spent most of today in quiet meditation. Many other Pagans and Wiccans have elaborate rituals and feasts to celebrate the day. I’m the only Pagan in my family, so there isn’t a big huzzah. I might do something after the dark settles in.

The next time we meet, the holiday season will be winding down at last. Until then, may the returning of the sun bring you love, magick, and light.

Leave a Reply

